surrealcouchuniverse

"You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on." – Dean Martin

GOING OUT TO EAT- MY DECISION CRITERIA

Leave a comment

For me, going out to eat can be confusing. However, I am often expected to make snap decisions to decide what I am going to eat. Add to this that I don’t actually go out too often to eat (I normally try to encourage doing something else). Therefore, whenever I go out to eat, I use a certain criteria to decide what I am going to eat. This has served me well on many occasions.

  1. CAN I MAKE IT (EASILY) AT HOME- If I can make it easily at home, I don’t see the point in paying inflated prices to get it when going out. I like to treat myself when I go out instead of eating something I can make. This is particularly relevant for breakfasts. I have no desire to pay $15 for bacon and eggs when I can just make it at home in 10 minutes.
  2. HAVE I TRIED IT BEFORE- I am a lover of novelty. If I haven’t tried it before, I am often keen to try it out. And because I haven’t tried it before, it often means I can’t make it easily at home. Some of the best meals I have eaten have often been because I went for a “why-not” attitude.
  3. HAVE I EATEN IT LATELY- If I have had chicken last night, I will try to eat something else.  Pretty simple and straightforward. I tend to get sick of meals pretty quickly. This also applies for flavours and spices (such as curry).
  4. TAKE ADVANTAGE OF ANY CHEAT DAYS- If I am having a cheat day, I am definitely getting some ice-cream. By the same token, I am having meat for every meal in the days leading up to lent. I don’t want to look back with regret because I can always fit more ice-cream/bacon/ bacon-flavoured ice-cream in my stomach.
  5. TAKE ADVANTAGE OF SPECIALS- Sometimes it feels like everything on the menu will cost an arm and a leg. From someone who is used to going to supermarkets and cooking at home, paying $35 for 250 grams of meat seems a bit excessive. For this reason, I try to pick something from a special menu. This is especially true for weekday lunch menus, where a meal can be up to half the price. This takes a bit of the sting out of the hip pocket.

So they are the main criteria I use when deciding what to eat when I am out at a restaurant. This normally ensures that I always enjoy what I eat, and if I don’t, at least I have a good story to tell from it.

Leave a Reply

