surrealcouchuniverse

"You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on." – Dean Martin

HOW FAST CAN YOU PACK YOUR LIFE AWAY?

Leave a comment

So this should be an interesting 10 days coming up. Over the course of the next 10 days, I have to pack my life away and sort out allot of loose ends as I prepare myself to move countries for a new job. Life does have a habit of throwing these curveballs out just when you think everything is sorted. For me, sorted involved having the job of my dreams, everyone I cared about being in good health, getting the girl of my dreams and moving to somewhere I felt like I belonged (while still being an hours drive from all my existing friends and family). As dreams go it was pretty good.

But pretty good wasn’t destined to last even if I forgot that all things end. Here, the end involved poor health, too many hours in hospitals, losing the girl and losing the job. I am still fortunate in my life and am still pretty well off despite what I have lost. However, the sense of belonging is once again gone as I am just reminded of how I managed to lose all these things. So now I am off, relocating overseas to see whether another fresh start can make me feel like I belong again.

I begin my new job in 10 days time. In that 10 days, there are allot of loose ends and people I will let down be necessity as I relocate. Tomorrow I will start packing and seeing how much of my life I actually need to start again. I have live a fortunate life and will continue to do so, and I am grateful that I have the opportunity to relocate and continue the hunt for somewhere I belong. Because in the words of Fight Club, this is our lives and they are over one moment at a time.

Leave a Reply

