surrealcouchuniverse

"You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on." – Dean Martin

Fitness Routine Change-Up

Leave a comment

 So now that I have up and moved, I am doing a change-up of my fitness routine for this month. Previously, I was doing some combination of Jiu-Jitsu, Muay Thai, Weights, Tennis, Running (for distance, normally about 10km) and going to the beach. However, for the next month, until I get myself set-up over here a bit more permanently, I am going to try a new fitness routine.

 This routine will revolve around 2 quick (20-30 minute) work-outs a day. The first work-out will focus on body-weight exercises and be a combination of high-reps at normal speed, low reps at slow-reps, holds for time or some skipping/sprinting at the park, dependent on what I feel like for approximately 20 minutes. There will also be some stretching and meditation at the end of this work-out (normally the final 10 minutes). This will be done in the morning. 

 Similar to my morning work-out, the second work-out will be split into 2 parts. The first part will be a skills-based warm up for about 10-15 minutes. This may be practicing juggling, hacky-sack, some martial arts drills, tumbling, or once again whatever I feel like. The final 15-20 minutes will be spent on yoga-/pilates-type exercises focused on flexibility and balance. This will ideally be done in the afternoon or evening.

 After one month of this, I plan on returning to the gym and some more formal skills-based work. I am interested to see how my fitness holds up and also how I look in the mirror. My prediction is I will gain some flexibility but lose quite a bit of strength. At any rate, it should be interesting.

 

Leave a Reply

