surrealcouchuniverse

"You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on." – Dean Martin

Song Thoughts- Like I Can (Sam Smith)

Leave a comment

I really like this song. To me, Sam Smith pretty much sing-yelling the chorus provides such a passionate contrast to the remainder, quiet moments in the song that it really grabs me. The only thing I didn’t like about the song was how it seemed to go through how much better he would be than all these other guys and why a woman should choose him.

Then I saw the music video and it all made sense and made me like this song so much more. The music video shows a bunch of well dressed men going around to clubs and trying to convince women to go out with them. And that pretty much sums up the song.

I am not sure if it was meant to be like this, but now I see it as an ‘anti-nice-guy’ song. It is a song pretty much mocking what all ‘nice-guys’ say about women that would be better off with them and how much better they are than all these other guys. And they do it without realising how much they look like all these other guys that don’t interest the women despite being nice to them.

And that is pretty much why I like the song now. Everytime I hear it, it reminds me that you have to be more than just ‘nice’ to stand out from all the other people around you.

Leave a Reply

