surrealcouchuniverse

"You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on." – Dean Martin

MY FAVORITE X-BOX 360 GAMES

Leave a comment

So at the end of this generation, I am left pondering the X-Box 360 and the collection of games I have played on it. I do not intend to purchase a PS4 or X-box One at this stage, so I thought I would list my favourite 360 games. I have excluded games I played on computer even it also came out on 360 (such as Blood Dragon). I also didn’t include games I haven’t fully played through yet or are on the “to-do” pile (otherwise Deus Ex would probably be on here).

BASTION- This game has everything and it meshes together perfectly. It has a deep world, mechanics and narrative that reinforce each other, and a super-sexy narrator. This is my favourite game on 360. A bittersweet story about human nature, despair, hope and heroism that I am never tired of playing.

THE DARKNESS- The Darkness is a game that oozes style. The Darkness 2 also falls in this category, except that it ends on such a cliffhanger. It may not have the best shooting mechanics or the most wide variety of enemies; but the comic-style, strong narrative and inventive style makes this awesome shooter stand out.

X-COM: ENEMY UNKNOWN- As a fan of turn-based strategy, I was eagerly awaiting this game. And I loved this game when it came out. I eagerly rushed back after work to put in a solid 4-6 hours a night. A perfect reimagining that offered me a next-gen turn-based game that was awesome.

DARK SOULS- This game ticked all the boxes for me. A bleak, dark atmosphere with a narrative that hinted at things instead of providing allot of exposition, this game caught me by surprise. There is nothing quite like finally beating that boss that dwarfs your pathetic human character.

JUST CAUSE 2- For all the open world games out there, this is the one genre I felt really improved this generation with the processing power. But out of all the games, only 2 really stood out. Just Cause 2 allowed me to assassinate a General by flying a plane into him. What more needs to be said?

ASSASSIN’S CREED: BROTHERHOOD- The Assassins Creed series always looked good but I never tried them too much (unfortunately). Brotherhood was the first game I picked up, and I really liked how it made me feel. Sure, allot of the fights felt really easy (“press X to win” was in full effect). But playing as a free-running assassin felt right.

So they are the favourite games on the 360. I am looking forward to buying some games that I haven’t played yet (such as Katamari, Assassin’s Creed Liberation, Dark Souls 2) at bargain prices. That is, of course, unless Steam puts them on sale first.

Leave a Reply

