surrealcouchuniverse

"You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on." – Dean Martin

G.R.L.: From Ugly Heart to Lighthouse

Leave a comment

I liked Ugly Heart. I feel that G.R.L. did a good, upbeat song about telling someone to get lost. It was a pleasant change (at the time) from the songs that felt like they were just pining (I believe Sam Smith and John Legend were in their prime at the time). Fun, upbeat songs were in their primacy.

The follow-up, Lighthouse, does away with most of that to join the ranks of the countless other slow ballads on the radio. The first song or two that were slow were good. When 90% of the new pop songs are slow ballads, it becomes quite tedious. Maybe their producer decided to jump G.R.L. on the bandwagon, but Lighthouse is a song I switched from without even listening to the end of it.

It is made even worse my being dedicated to someone. So now I have a song I don’t like, made worse because I really liked the bands first song, and I now feel bad about not liking it. Fantastic.

Leave a Reply

