surrealcouchuniverse

"You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on." – Dean Martin

Game Themes and Lords of Waterdeep

Leave a comment

I was recently playing the Lords of Waterdeep board game and just couldn’t find myself getting into it. I am normally big into game themes and realised that the main problem is I didn’t feel like a Lord of Waterdeep. It just felt like I was pushing cubes around instead of directing what the cubes are meant to represent- Adventurers. Also, for controlling adventurers, their is very little conflict or attacking (outside the euro-game thing of blocking actions). I would have really been more into this game if they used meeples or shaped tokens as opposed to different colours of cube for wizards, fighters, etc. Giving  the option to attack other players would have also helped. As it stands, I don’t think the mechanics or the game is strong enough and the theme not really good enough to make it a must-play for me.

Leave a Reply

